2021 is our third season as Southeastern Lakes Scholastic Mountain Bike Association (SLSMTB).      SLSMTB is a is a 501(c)3 charitable organization mountain biking team comprised of private, public, virtual and homeschool student athletes in grades 6-12 from SE Wisconsin and Northern Illinois. The team competes in the Wisconsin High School League, a league of the National Interscholastic Cycling Association (NICA). NICA was founded in 2009 and develops programs throughout the United States. Our team was started in 2014 by Head Coach, Dave Bender, with one athlete under the team name Westosha Composite. In the past five years, we have grown to a team of over forty athletes!!! We expect to experience significant program growth in 2021, with current projections indicating 75-85 athletes.

In 2020 we became a sanctioned USA Cycling club.  This allows us to expand our team to include athletes younger than 6th grade, and conduct training in almost every format and setting throughout the year.  

Our team is open to all athletes that want to participate with both club and race options. Everyone is
welcome and everyone rides. While we have humble beginnings and continue to develop, we are proud
to share that our team was ranked as the Division 2 State Champs in 2017.

Our team is managed and coached by Dave Bender along with a volunteer board of directors. Dave is
assisted by forty three volunteer coaches. These coaches are certified by NICA and trained at various
levels to include safety, risk management, and skill development.

2020 SLS Infographic - Final.png

2018 Westosha Composite Year End Video


We build strong minds, bodies, character, and communities through cycling.

Our Mission

SLSMTB provides all youth that have a desire to ride a bike an opportunity to build strong body, mind and character through cycling. SLSMTB encourages athletic excellence and good sportsmanship towards all participants and supporters.


Giving Back

SLSMTB is proud to give back to our community! All of our student athletes perform trail work to maintain and improve trails in our county parks.

Board of Directors

Dave Bender
Carolynn Powers

Jennifer Walrich

Eric Themanson

Katie Lindstrom
Ken Bozych
Chris Breeden
Matt Brooks

Justin Heiligenthal

We Need Your Support Today!